Vermont will require Paid Sick Leave

Effective January 1, 2017, Vermont will be added to the list of states requiring paid sick leave for employees.  The bill was signed by Governor Shumlin last week.  The list of states now requiring paid sick leave is:

  • California
  • Connecticut
  • The District of Columbia
  • Massachusetts
  • Oregon
  • Vermont

Vermont will use an “hour-per-hours worked” formula to allow for sick leave accrual.  There will be a maximum annual accrual amount in 2017 and 2018, which will increase in 2019.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s